Uncle Everett and Uncle Phil 1952

Uncle Everett was from Kentucky. When I was 5 and 6 yrs-old, him and Aunt Orange would take me to Kentucky for the summer. When we got in radio range in the car my Aunt Orange would tune into Hillbilly music. She would holler out, “I’m just a hillbilly!”

As soon as I reached my Aunt Viola’s where I stayed, she would make me take my shoes off. Shoes were only for church and The Grand Ol’ Opry when it traveled to the area. I was the only Filipino kid within a thousand miles of the place.

About garylolong

A lifetime of photography
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

